## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

## **#SAFERLEONORA COMMITTEE**

#### 1. Role of the #SaferLeonora Committee

The role of the #SaferLeonora Committee is to enhance community safety and reduce criminal and anti-social behaviour through a collaboration of key interests and agencies.

#### 2. Powers of the #SaferLeonora Committee

The #SaferLeonora Committee is a formally appointed committee of Council and is responsible to that body. The #SaferLeonora Committee does not have executive powers or authority to implement actions in areas over which the Chief Executive Officer has legislative responsibility and does not have any delegated financial responsibility. The #SaferLeonora Committee does not have any management functions and cannot involve itself in management processes or procedures.

The #SaferLeonora Committee is to report to Council and provide appropriate advice and recommendations on matters relevant to its terms of reference to facilitate informed decision-making by Council in relation to the legislative functions and duties of the local government that have not been delegated to the Chief Executive Officer.

# 3. Membership

The #SaferLeonora Committee shall consist of representatives from government, non-government, police and community agencies at the local level who share a collective commitment and expertise in relation to community safety and perceptions of safety. The Committee membership may include the following:

- Two (2) Elected Members;
- Officer In Charge of the Leonora Police Station or nominated representative;
- One (1) representative of Hope Community Services;
- One (1) representative of the Department of Communities Child Protection and Family Support;
- One (1) representative of the Department of Education;
- One (1) representative of the Nyunnga-Ku women's support group;
- One (1) representative of the Leonora Youth Centre;
- One (1) representative of the Department of Health (Health Promotion);
- One (1) representative of Minara Resources
- One (1) representative of Centrecare;

Up to two (2) community representatives.

All members have full voting rights.

## 4. Standing Ex-Officio Members

- Chief Executive Officer or nominated representative, i.e. Deputy Chief Executive Officer;
- One (1) representative of the Stephen Michael Foundation;
- One (1) representative of the PCYC Kalgoorlie
- One (1) representative of the Department of Justice;
- One (1) representative of the Shooting Stars;
- One (1) representative of the Department Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries;
- One (1) representative of Minara Resources
- One (1) representative of St Barbara's
- One (1) representative of Macmahon
- One (1) representative of WALGA (Road Safety);
- Department Fire and Emergency Services (by invitation)

## 5. Meetings

The #SaferLeonora Committee shall meet at least quarterly, with additional meetings convened at the discretion of the presiding member.

## 6. Reporting

Minutes and recommendations of each committee meeting shall be presented to the next ordinary meeting of the Council.

## 7. Duties and Responsibilities

The Committee will:

- Develop, review and oversee the implementation of the Shire of Leonora #SaferLeonora Plan;
- Develop effective partnerships with local State Government agencies through local service agreements to support the coordination and integration of community safety and crime prevention activities within the Shire of Leonora;
- Identify and coordinate funding opportunities to address priority issues that have been identified in the #SaferLeonora Plan:

## 8. Working Parties

Working parties may be established at the edict of this Committee to address specific issues in relation to community safety and appoint people with the necessary knowledge and skills to contribute to those working parties.

All auxiliary working parties shall report back to the #SaferLeonora Committee on progress and outcomes with any recommendations.

## 9. Tenure of Membership

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, section 5.11, ie, until the next scheduled local government ordinary elections.

#### 10. Committee

# 10.1 Chairperson

The members shall appoint the Chairperson.

### 10.2 Secretary

A Shire of Leonora employee will fulfil the role of non-voting minute taker.

### 10.3 Quorum

The quorum at any meeting shall be at least 50% of the number of offices of the committee.

## 10.4 Voting

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21.

### 10.5 Minutes

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

### 10.6 Who Acts If No Presiding Member

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

### 10.7 Meetings

Meetings shall be generally open to the public pursuant to Section 5.23 of the Local Government Act and include question time for members of the Committee pursuant to Section 5.24 of the Local Government Act.

### 10.8 Members Interests to be Disclosed

Members of the Committee are bound by the provisions of the Local Government Act Section 5.65 with respect to disclosure of financial, impartiality or proximity interests.

## 10.9 Code of Conduct

Members of the committee are bound by Council's Code of Conduct.